A Moth Or A Mouse?

I teach a class of six 11-12 year olds who are at a lower level than the rest of their form class, so are separated for English and Grammar lessons. Some of them are keen, some of them are really unenthusiastic, and as many games as we play and as much as I try to make the lesson un-monotonous and more interesting, there’s not much I can do when I have to follow a book page by page.

Last week, however, one lesson was different.

The kids had come in, taken their books out and were all settled. I had just started talking when I heard “Ahhhh, it’s a moth.”

One girl in the class has very poor pronunciation, and I heard her screaming at this thing… “A moth! A moth!”

My immediate reaction was “Oh for goodness sakes, it’s a moth, it’s not going to hurt you.” but the girls were jumping around and screaming. Then, after a few screams, I established it wasn’t a moth. It was, in fact, a mouse. 🐭 (We need more work on that pronunciation!)

The kids were going completely nuts. The children in this country are insanely loud all the time anyway, but this was over and above what I had heard in any other situation. They were screaming and wailing like it was a snake. I was laughing! I told them to wait outside until we got someone (not me, maybe a caretaker) to catch it.

I really thought that standing in the corner at my desk would be safe. Oh no. This wasn’t the case. The mouse ran towards me and I jumped onto the chair. That last tiny bit of professionalism went straight out of the window there!

The kids were screaming around in the corridor so I went out to control them as they had disrupted another lesson, who were now coming to look. I sent one girl to find a caretaker/ maintenance guy to catch the wee mousie. 🐭

Each classroom has two doors. One at the back and one at the front. The rooms are small. All of us, the kids from my class and the rest of their form class were blocking the doors so of course the wee mouse was trapped. It managed to run up a chair leg, across some tables, up the side of the board and along the top of the board to stare at us.

I have to admit at this point, it was super cute with its little ears and big round eyes! 🐭🐭🐭

The girl who I’d sent to find a caretaker came back with no luck… I sent her to get a security guy. (The security guys are multi talented and can do pretty much ANYTHING you ask them to.)

Someone said to get away from the door, so I made sure that the kids weren’t blocking the doors and out ran the wee mousie 🐭, along the corridor and up the stairs.

If you’re wondering what’s upstairs, it’s bedrooms. The teachers’ bedrooms and the dorms for the boarding kids (two of which are in that class).

We haven’t seen wee mousie since. I hope he isn’t under my bed and he got out of the school alive!!

🐭 🐭 🐭 🐭 🐭

One thought on “A Moth Or A Mouse?

  1. Very amusing story!! You were very brave, and attentive to your students. It reminds me of the Latin saying, “Parturient montes, nascitur ridiculus mus,” which means “The mountains part, and what comes out but a silly little mouse.” Powerful little devils, they are!

    Like

Leave a Reply

