A Step in a New Direction

After five not always easy or enjoyable months working here in Vinh, Vietnam, I have decided it’s time for change. I have handed my notice in, and have just over 3 weeks left to work before flying home to a currently very cold and snowy Scotland. I can’t wait to see everyone, especially as it’s about a year earlier than I’d planned on heading home!

I originally trained as a paediatric nurse, but following a rough ending to my university degree I thought nursing wasn’t for me. Maybe teaching was. I tried my hand at it, and really enjoyed it.

Following my time in Thailand, I thought I wanted to be a teacher, but knew spending more time teaching abroad would be more sensible than jumping straight in to another degree.

It is now clear to me that teaching is not that way forward for me. I’m sad, actually, though relieved I think I’ve decided which path, and which direction to take.

I’m going to go back to nursing. I’m going to apply for a Return to Practise course and I’m really looking forward to it.

This all sounds really doom and gloom doesn’t it. The course doesn’t start until next January (assuming I get in!), so have ages, like, a whole year.

This coming year could be the last time I’m completely commitment free and I don’t want to spend it in a small city, working in a job where I’m not particularly happy. I want to do lots of things before I have a career and a flat and all the other things that come with growing up… like a dog or something!

IMG_0257

2015 is going to be epic!

This year, after a few weeks at home, I’m going to: India (with my Dad), Thailand, The Philippines, Japan (to visit a friend I met when living in NZ), Malaysia, Indonesia, Australia (to see extended family), where hopefully my amazing friend from school will come out and join me, and then Fiji (to see my host family from when I volunteered there back in 2009). Yes, 2015 is set to be another year of travels and excitements, highs and hopefully a very small number lows in comparison to this year. All of this travel was planned before leaving the UK back at the beginning of August 2014, and I was going to keep going after Vietnam, but then I realised I was low on space in my passport so would need to go home. Then thought, let’s throw India into the mix too! My Dad has old family ties there so will be nice to learn more about those as well as finding yet another new culture to jump straight into.

It turns out I do actually have JUST enough space in my passport. This time next year I will have to get a new one for sure though.

I’m slightly sad for myself that I haven’t stuck out the contract I was so desperate to get, but I really think I’ve made the right decision and I need to put one foot in front of the other and get the ball rolling in terms of my career and life plans.

I’ve also set 3 ten year goals (none yet for nursing – we will cross that bridge when it comes to it…).

They are:

  1. Visit Antarctica
  2. Learn a language (No – I can’t speak Vietnamese… it’s next to impossible for me, and as much as I try STILL no one understands what I’m trying to say)
  3. Learn to ski!

I guess in terms of nursing I’d like to be working in a Children’s A+E somewhere, but I’ll take nursing as it comes for now.

First thing’s first though. I CANNOT wait to get back to Scotland for a proper cup of tea and some normal food!

See you all soon 😀

IMG_1545

2 thoughts on “A Step in a New Direction

Leave a Reply

